A few Before and After pictures

I’ve had my van for a good few years now and I though people would like to see some of the changes I’ve made during that time. There was quite a bit of welding work required and I was lucky enough to live near some very talented welders. Also with the help of a friend of mine we resprayed the van into it’s current colour scheme of red and white.

Before:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Nearside rear wheel arch

After:

iPhone Bob 1618

Basically each of the four wheel arches were in the same state and over the course of two years I had them all replaced with good quality new panels.

The inside was truly dire when I first got the van but we still went camping in it. In all I think I’ve built four completely different interiors over the years, each one easier to live with than the previous version. I’ll let the photo’s do the talking now as I show you the van as it was and how it is now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Chloe still likes the front seat

image

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At least this cooker had a grill

image

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All the carpet was held on by a selection of glue, double sided sticky tape, nails, chewing gum and 6″ screws.

image

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve still got the same seat/bed but with new foam and covering

image

IMG_0616

Most of the inside was this grubby but new headlining and a lot of scrubbing brought it up beautifully.

image

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A lovely discreet double socket, not actually connected to anything as the wires had burnt out

Agreed Value Interior 3 May 2014

Another part of the design which I’m very pleased with is the larder or tin drawer which uses the wasted space between the sink , fridge and drivers seat. No before and after pictures with this so I’ve put a ‘nearly made’ and ‘finished’ picture up instead.

IMG_8967

Larder Open

I expect I’ll keep fiddling about with it but this interior seems to work well and I’ve also made a reversible, removable table which I’ll show in the next post

10 thoughts on “A few Before and After pictures

  1. It really is amazing to see the transformation in photos like this. You’d never believe it was the same van, Skippy is looking amazing Dad!

    Like

    1. Have you got a link to the pictures of it, I’d like to see what you’ve done.
      A T5/6 would be a much more sensible choice for my journey, much better fuel consumption – but – if I didn’t take my old bay it would only sit on the drive pining.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It is on my blog but not sure how to get u a link. I take it if press click on t5adventure it should come up. šŸ™‚ my husband uses it as his everyday car as well

        Like

Leave a Reply

