Exploring East Anglia

We had two weeks off work so we took the van on a little trip around Norfolk and Suffolk and also visited a few friends and relations along the way.

So, a trip short on mileage but very chilled and relaxing with outstanding weather. We spent a while camping with friends at Breck Farm near Sherringham and I took a few pictures of steam trains at Weybourne Station on the North Norfolk Railway. I’m not a railway buff so I don’t know much about this engine apart from the fact that it was very loud, very impressive, and I’d love to have a go at driving it!

Beccles-9

Our next stop was a little camp-site right in the centre of Wroxham. It was another Camping and Caravanning Club site and this one also cost us the princely sum of £10.

Beccles-8

I must be getting better at the camera to pose 10 second dash because I look like I’ve been sat in that chair for ages rather than dashing from behind the camera, leaping over my bike, swerving around the dog and throwing myself into the seat just before the shutter triggers.

Beccles-6

Despite being in the centre of town it was a beautiful place to sit out in the evening and with only 5 pitches it felt more like a private garden, but with visiting swans.

Beccles-7

This particular cygnet, one of a family of 6, got hooked by an angler on the opposite bank. I watched in disbelief as the angler, now known to us as ‘Cruel Pig’, calmly cut his line and let the cygnet swim away with a hook in it’s mouth and trailing about 30 feet of fishing line, complete with the float and weights. Cruel Pig then set about putting a new hook and float onto his line to carry on fishing!

I shouted across the river at him “Are you just going to let that swan that you’ve hooked die of starvation then?” I had to shout it three times before he’d look up and meet my eyes. By that time he and I had the attention of every boater and tourist in the area, and he, Mr Cruel Heartless Pig, had an embarrassment factor off of the scale. We got the RSPCA to send someone out to rescue the swan and about three hours later the swan was fine and the red faced cruel pig had packed up his fishing gear and slunk away.

We got new neighbours today, I thought their van was rubbish.

Beccles-10

This is a shot along the river Bure which splits the towns of Wroxham and Hoveton although many people refer to the whole town as Wroxham.

Beccles-5

Next stop on our random meandering was the Strumpshaw Steam museum, not far from Norwich, it’s in the Mid Yare National Nature Reserve and about 5 minutes from the Strumpshaw Fen RSPB Reserve on the river Yare.

Beccles-4

The museum was very interesting and rather than general shots of the exhibits I thought I’d get better photo’s by looking for patterns and details.

Beccles-14

The next photo (as I envisioned it when I pressed the shutter) was supposed to be a detailed shot of the steering gear of one of the steam rollers in the collection. I’d deliberately used a very wide aperture to throw the chain out of focus so it could act as an unusual leading line into the picture but I’m not sure I pulled it off.

Beccles-13

Beccles next and this village sign caught my eye. It shows Queen Elizabeth I bestowing the charter of the corporation of Beccles to John Bass in 1584.

Beccles-2

I thought Beccles was a lovely town and spent a pleasant few hours cycling around it.

Beccles-11

I can heartily recommend the Bear & Bells in the old market place. It was where we spent the afternoon eating and drinking and chatting to the locals. I lent this guy one of my hats to go with his bubble pipe, he and his friend are lighting technicians who work on the X factor.

Beccles-12

This is the harbour in Beccles and just behind me is a free 24 hour car park where camper vans are welcome to camp overnight.

Beccles-3

By dodging the traffic on the busy road bridge I got this picture of the river Waveney which runs through Beccles and into the sea at Lowestoft with the tower of St Michaels Church in the background. The public are allowed up to the top of the tower which is supposed to give beautiful views of the surrounding countryside. Obviously it helps if you’re organised enough to visit Beccles on the day the tower is open.

Beccles-1

In order to concentrate more on improving my photography I’ve decided to focus (did you see what I did there?) on Cambridgeshire which means I have the option of returning to the same place multiple times until the conditions are right to get the best picture. I need to make more effort to take photographs in the ‘Golden Hours’ which are around sunrise and sunset.

I hope you found this post interesting and I’d welcome any comments and critique on the pictures so far.

 

12 thoughts on “Exploring East Anglia

  1. Another fantastic read, I like the idea of taking close up photographs, far more interesting than the normal touristy snaps people take. Perhaps with the chain that was blurry it’d make more sense to be blurry further away rsther than the front of the photo? Loved Beccles, looks beautiful. Looking forward to your post from the Peak District 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

